top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureXinda XU

23.5.20 520, Keep Claim and Love IDC


On May 20th, I made a funny poster and posted it on my Instagram. Why do I say "love IDC" on May 20th? Because the Chinese pronunciation of "520" is similar to "I love you" (actually because I'm single), many couples also express their love for each other on May 20th, my sister's wedding anniversary is also on this day.


Reflection on this week's session

In this week's proposal course, I mainly learned how to write research questions through group discussion and Wesley's feedback in the session. In my opinion, the research question is much more difficult to write than the topline, because I often make the research question beyond the scope of my topic, that is, the research question is too big and not detailed enough. I think this may be because I have not done enough research on my research direction. If I want to give an accurate research question, in addition to more research on the topic, also, I think it may be necessary to consider whether readers can answer my questions through the article after reading the proposal.


About the project of unit 2.2

This week I did more deeply research on my unit 2.2 project, and I got an idea about reinventing some abandoned technology. Perhaps these technologies may find new, useful uses in the post-crisis era. I used C4D to make a model (See Image ), which I called "storage green tape". This is an attempt of my project through 3D modelling.



The tape was originally a device for storing sound, but it has been gradually abandoned due to the development of technology. So, I imagine that perhaps in the post-crisis era, the tape may use as a new method to store objects that had disappeared from the earth. I want to finish my project by making a series of objects. This is just an attempt.


But from the point of view of this C4D model, Carmen&Ece did not think the tape was a better representation, although it was only an attempt. They think from the picture, it was just a hole in a grass tape growing out. They thought this work was not persuasive or reasonable for my topic, because the tape could be changed into anything. That's something I hadn't considered before. According to their suggestion, maybe I can use tapes as a carrier and make them into objects that people use in their daily life, such as books.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
文章: Blog2 Post
bottom of page